Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs)

 

Because investment funds usually measure themselves against a reference index such as the German DAX or the American Dow Jones Index, funds have been developed which simply track an index, doing away with the need for management and the associated fees.

They are usually traded via stock exchanges and for that reason are called exchange traded funds (ETFs). Today there are thousands of them, and transparency is an important selection criterion. This is because many index funds do not actually hold the corresponding shares and bonds in their portfolio, but instead track them using SWAPS (Synthetic ETFs).

In both actively managed investment funds and passive ETFs, the bonds and shares are lent out in order to generate additional returns for the fund company itself. This leads to greater risk, for which the shareholder is only partially compensated – if at all. With fully physically replicating ETFs, these loans can even be accessed and viewed via the Internet.

Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs)

 

Da Investmentfonds sich meistens mit einem Referenzindex wie z.B. dem deutschen Aktienindex DAX oder dem amerikanischen Dow Jones Index messen, sind Fonds entstanden, die einfach einen Index abbilden und das Management und die damit verbundenen Gebühren einsparen.

Sie werden in der Regel über Börsen gehandelt und heißen deshalb Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs). Auch davon gibt es bereits tausende und die Transparenz ist ein wichtiges Auswahlkriterium; denn viele Indexfonds halten nicht tatsächlich die entsprechenden Aktien und Anleihen im Portfolio, sondern bilden diese mit SWAPS (sog. Synthetische ETFs) ab.

Sowohl bei aktiv gemanagten Investmentfonds als auch bei den passiven ETFs werden die Anleihen und Aktien zum Generieren von zusätzlichen Erträgen für die Fondsgesellschaft selbst verliehen. Dadurch entsteht mehr Risiko, welches dem Anteilseigner nur teilweise - wenn überhaupt - vergütet wird. Bei voll physisch replizierenden ETFs sind diese Ausleihungen im Internet sogar abruf- und einsehbar.